FF: Ordinary Girl in an Extraordinary Affair- Chapter 1




Chapter 1
Khushi sat down on her bed and closed her eyes as she fought for control. It was true. No matter how hard she tried, it was impossible for forget Arnav. She’s broken in cold sweat today when she’d seen a person on the street, about his height, his build. Her heart had started beating faster than an express train. She had practically run all the way from the lake to home.
A teardrop made its way out of her eye and rolled down over her cheek. She wiped it away gently. As the days went by, she felt the knife of hurt going deeper and deeper. Who said time heals all kinds of hurt? Sometimes even TIME stops for certain types of hurt, it just can’t heal. When the one you loved the most in your love destroys your faith in love, in life itself, there remains nothing but a dead shell of your own self. She could now relate to the emotion that plagued her night and day and refused to melt in thin air. It was love.
She loved Arnav Singh Raizada and nothing she did would wipe it off her soul.
“It is no use sitting like this. I must do something! I must keep myself busy! I must strive to forget him. I must. “Khushi repeated this statement again and again as if it was the only mantra that will keep all the memories away. She flounced off the bed and went downstairs.
Delicious smell of food wafted out from the kitchen, making Khushi hungry all over again. She could eat a ton and still not be satisfied. Her figure was what one could call jaw dropping though she didn’t pay much attention to it these days. She had always hated exercising, thus gym was out of the question, but she played tennis to remain fit. However she had gained weight since.. well, since she came back from Delhi and left it all behind her.
The loyal family maid and seemingly ageless Lalita was in the kitchen. Lalita had been in Khushi’s grandmother’s employ since she was 8 years old and grandmother had rescued her from the clutches of poverty. Today she was a valuable part of the family and much loved by all.
“What’s for lunch today Lalita?”  Khushi shouted even before she enters the kitchen. “I’m ravenously hungry.”
Lalita looked at Khushi and smiled at her fondly. She was her favourite among all the daughters of the Gupta clan. She stopped Khushi from prying to various bowls that were already covered with their respective lids.
“Khushi, stop shouting. Even if your grandma’s room is upstairs, I shall not tolerate this.”
Khushi touched her ears and made eyes, “Alright I’m sorry. Now, can I please please peek in and see what’s for lunch?”
Lalita opened the lids one by one, “Your favourite Palak Paneer subzi is here and the Paranthas are here. Your jalebis are on the other counter, covered and to be eaten only after lunch. Pulav has also been made since Payal asked for it. She’s come here to visit for a couple of days so it’s only befitting that I make her favourites too. “
Khushi hugged her, “Awww! The ever caring Lalita! Oh Lalita, what’d I do without you! Who’d feed me? Since it is all ready and waiting to be served, may I simply grab a couple of jalebis?”
Lalita laughed, “You just can’t stay away from them, can you? Go on then.. but only a few!”
While Khushi munched on the jalebis, she poked around in the fridge. “Aree Lalita, we’re falling short of veggies.”
“Ah yes, Khushi. Would you be kind enough to go to the Bazaar today evening and buy some? I’ll give you the list. You can even take Sophie with you.” said Lalita.
Sophie was Khushi’s darling. As far as looks went, Sophie was a German Shepard with fierce looks and yet was gentle as lamb.
Khushi beamed at Lalita. “Okie dokie. I’ll do that.” As she munched on her jalebis, the smile dropped off and she became thoughtful. If any of her Delhi friends saw her like this, they’d probably not even recognize her.  “And a good thing it would be too! I wouldn’t want anyone to find me or recognize me. I don’t want to ever meet anyone from that part of my life ever. It is gone- done. Over with.” she mumbled to herself.
At the uplifted enquiring eyebrow from Lalita, Khushi simply smiled and said, “Talking to myself is all. Take no notice of me.”
Lalita rolled her eyes heavenwards, “What’s new? You’ve been like that since you learnt to talk! Sankadevi.”
Lunch time was a quiet affair as usual, with Payal and Khushi sitting on both sides of her grandmother while she was seated at the head of the table. While they were being served Jalebis, Payal piped up, “Grandmother, I am so happy to see you after so many years and Khushi after so many months. Nainital has not changed much and it seems to have done Khushi loads of good too! She looks better now and even gained weight. Why, when we went to meet my friend Sarita, all the guys from her college were ogling at Khushi ! “
“NOT TRUE!” Khushi spoke while eating, nearly splattering jalebis everywhere, a horrified look in her eyes.
Her grandmother closed her eyes in despair and spoke gently but firmly, “Ugh! Khushi darling, chew, swallow and then speak. And why not? Why would the boys not stare at you? You are pretty.” responded the matriarch of the family. “Your long hair has regained its silky shine, looks a lovely shade of dark brown. You have gained a bit of weight and look voluptuous unlike those matchsticks I see lolling about everywhere. You would look so much better if you started wearing your lenses again and take off those horrid glasses.”
“I don’t WANT to look good or pretty. I don’t even want to talk about it. I’m happy the way I am here. Excuse me, I’ll take Sophie out for some time in the garden.” Saying this, Khushi left the table.

*Chapter 2- PRECAP: Arnav’s entry and flashbacks begin. *

Grandma sighed and looked at Payal, “It has been about seven months now since she’s come here. She left you all to stay with me in this quiet part of the world but she finds no peace. She smiles and laughs with everyone but I can’t be fooled. She tries hard to not let it show but sometimes, it just comes out. She has not forgotten that guy Arnav. She is still hurting.”

12 responses

  1. Really liked it so far!

  2. Interesting… the mixture of feelings that I guess only a woman can really understand, heartbroken, eating, denying the reality… complex to work with those emotions but so far well done as it catches your attention and you want to read more, to find out more, you ask yourself will she fight reality? I like it!

  3. very nicely written looking forward to read more can u PM me when u update

    1. sure will do. Where do I PM you?

  4. awesum its really touching ❤

    1. I thank you for your words. 🙂 ❤

  5. Fabulous! Pls post it in the Forum so that lots of readers come across it!

    Smita

    1. MY FF is posted here on the blog as well as on India Forums though some content where there are kisses or amorous behaviour, I prefer to post it here. 🙂 If you wish for the link, I will be glad to provide it.

  6. Just started, stumbled here by chance

  7. Loving this so much….im a new reader..and wow i am amazed with ur ff and writing skills..very articulate and interesting:)…Cant wait to read on…

  8. Just started to read the story.

Leave a Reply

