New recipe in my kitchen! – Mushroom Matar Masala.


The cloudy, gray and rainy weather plays a truant on my mood and makes me alternatively lazy and irritated. Writing for leisure has taken a back seat with work deadlines clogging my schedule. In fact, a lot of things have taken a backseat come to think of it!

Cooking has been minimal since the last few weeks. Not that I don’t like cooking or that I don’t cook at all. One must eat to survive, thus basic fare is cooked every day. However, there was the factor that I couldn’t find anything new I’d like to cook.

I’ve been itching to try on something new in my kitchen. Baking is being given a rest for now. So what is it that I could cook for my foodie husband, I wondered. He loves eating and more so eating Indian food. Give him anything with a bit of Indian touch and he’ll gobble it up, he will. 😀

So this evening, on my stove bubbles the dish called MUSHROOM MATAR MASALA. Normally mushrooms don’t enter my house much, since Bangalore is a rainy place and there’s a chance mushrooms may perish quickly. Today however, I’m all prepared. So here goes something that I learnt from my neighbour yesterday.

Essentially this recipe is easy to make and contains spicy onion tomato gravy. This dish is not hot by nature since it is calmed by creamy cashew paste. This dish can be served with Indian breads of all kinds as well as rice.

NOTE: CALORIE CONSCIOUS PEOPLE ALERT!!! THIS IS HIGH CALORIE RECIPE!!

MUSHROOM MATAR MASALA:

Mushroom masala2

Preparation Time: 15 mins
Cooking Time: 30 mins
Makes 4 servings

Ingredients

2 tbsp vegetable oil (sunflower oil also goes well)
1 tsp cumin seeds
4 cardamoms
1 stick of cinnamon
1 cup finely chopped onions
2 tbsp ginger-garlic paste (peel 1 inch long ginger stick and four garlic cloves and make a paste. That should do it.)
1/2 cup tomato, pureed
3/4 tbsp red chilli powder
2 tsp coriander seeds powder
1 tsp turmeric powder
1 tsp garam masala
salt to taste
1/4 cup cashew nut paste
1 1/2 cups green peas
200 gms mushrooms, sliced thinly (I’ve used button mushrooms but pick your own!)
For The Garnish
2 tbsp chopped green coriander

Method

1) Once you’re done with chopping, grinding and readying the vegetables for the dish, heat the oil in a pan.
2) When you feel it’s hot enough, add cumin seeds. Once the cumin seeds start popping, add cardamoms, cinnamon stick and chopped onions.
3) Saute the onions till golden brown. Now add into it the ginger garlic paste and stir. Cook for about 2 minutes on medium flame.
4) Into it, add the tomato puree now & stir. Mix red chilli powder, coriander seeds powder, turmeric powder, garam masala and salt to taste. Stir again and let it cook until the oil starts accumulating on the sides of the spicy gravy you’ve cooked.
5) Dissolve the cashew nut paste into about a cup of water and stir. Mix it well. Now add this paste to the gravy.
6) Add another 1/2 cup of water and stir. Bring it to a boil now.
7) It is time to add green peas and mushrooms now. Let them simmer in the gravy for about 7-10 minutes. The peas should be properly cooked.
8) Garnish it with chopped green coriander before you serve.

Et voila! My dish is all ready and I’m off to cook Parathas with it. Cheers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

